Heads-up Display Information
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By jsvette

Thread: Heads-up Display Information

  1. #1
    Member JFJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    56
    Member #
    3062
    Liked
    26 times

    Heads-up Display Information

    Occasionally, the information mode in the display will change when I start the car. It is certainly no big deal and easy to change back, but has anyone else experienced this? I suspect it is caused by a remote software update.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Gold Supporting Member
    jsvette's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Vegas
    Mileage
    19k+
    Posts
    14,584
    Member #
    313
    Liked
    10464 times
    Our C7s do not receive remote software updates. Possibly you are brushing the HUD display button when you exit or enter your C7?
    Milliwatt Rob likes this.
    aka Jeff
    'RedHot' Prod.Wk 7 Oct '13 Museum Del. 29 Oct '13
    Torch Red, 2LT Adrenaline Red, AutoTrans., Nav., Perf. Exhaust, Transparent panel, Red Brembos, CQuartz Finest
    Contributing Member of the National Corvette Museum

  3. #3
    Member JFJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    56
    Member #
    3062
    Liked
    26 times
    Very possible!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. Remove Advertisements
    StingrayForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Senior Member meyerweb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Mileage
    W&C I & II
    Posts
    4,950
    Member #
    5430
    Liked
    5585 times
    The only times mine changed without me doing it were once when the dealer did a software update, and when I replaced my battery. Other than that, it stays where I put it.
    Hidden Content
    "SunKissed", my 2015 2LT, 7MT, Black over Daytona Sunrise Orange Metallic, Stingray convertible
    (One of about 40). >31,000+ miles. Purchased 5/2/2015

    Member of the Old Dominion Corvette Club. Check us out: Hidden Content

    My Stingray photos: Hidden Content

  6. #5
    Member JFJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    56
    Member #
    3062
    Liked
    26 times
    Quote Originally Posted by meyerweb View Post
    The only times mine changed without me doing it were once when the dealer did a software update, and when I replaced my battery. Other than that, it stays where I put it.
    There is a software update button buried in Settings. I can remember a message on the screen saying that the software update was successful when starting the car. I have also pushed an update using the button.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Gold Supporting Member
    jsvette's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Vegas
    Mileage
    19k+
    Posts
    14,584
    Member #
    313
    Liked
    10464 times
    Quote Originally Posted by JFJr View Post
    There is a software update button buried in Settings. I can remember a message on the screen saying that the software update was successful when starting the car. I have also pushed an update using the button.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    The only software updates our C7s receive (other than possibly apps related on the newer C7s) is by the dealer downloading it when your C7 is in for service.
    aka Jeff
    'RedHot' Prod.Wk 7 Oct '13 Museum Del. 29 Oct '13
    Torch Red, 2LT Adrenaline Red, AutoTrans., Nav., Perf. Exhaust, Transparent panel, Red Brembos, CQuartz Finest
    Contributing Member of the National Corvette Museum

  8. #7
    Senior Member Mobius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Mileage
    107,000 (s)miles in Vettes
    Posts
    3,665
    Member #
    2830
    Liked
    4870 times
    Quote Originally Posted by JFJr View Post
    Occasionally, the information mode in the display will change when I start the car. It is certainly no big deal and easy to change back, but has anyone else experienced this?
    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    A low battery voltage can cause this, like when the cars been sitting for some time. I've encountered it a couple of times over the years.

    Using the GM battery tender eliminated this for me.
    Current Vettes:
    '68 Lemans Blue 327/350 Convertible
    '91 Turquoise Convertible w/hardtop
    '14 Lime Rock Green 2LT Convertible, Black Top, Kalahari, 7-Speed, Performance Exhaust - Ordered on 4-1-2014, 2000 Status on 4-10-2014, TPW 5-12-2014, Built on 5-16-2014, Picked-up at dealership on 5-30-2014
    "Delta t = 23"

  9. #8
    Junior Member Hunter25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Tampa, Fl
    Mileage
    22000
    Posts
    26
    Member #
    3768
    Liked
    28 times
    My 2014 Z51 always defaults to just the digital speed display whenever I shut off the car. Each time I start it I have to reset it to the display I usually use !

  10. #9
    Junior Member 4mula1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    2782
    I think it is linked to the drive mode that you are in, and it will default to Touring mode when you start the car. I think Eco and Weather mode view will stay, but everything else will default back to Touring view.

  11. #10
    Super Moderator
    Gold Supporting Member
    jsvette's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Vegas
    Mileage
    19k+
    Posts
    14,584
    Member #
    313
    Liked
    10464 times
    Quote Originally Posted by 4mula1 View Post
    I think it is linked to the drive mode that you are in, and it will default to Touring mode when you start the car. I think Eco and Weather mode view will stay, but everything else will default back to Touring view.
    The primary information and format displayed on the HUD is determined by using the INFO tab on the HUD settings, located to the left of the steering wheel and just below the dash. It should remain where you set it regardless of the drive MODE you select. Some of the information will change briefly, however depending on the temporary messages, like NAV etc.
    aka Jeff
    'RedHot' Prod.Wk 7 Oct '13 Museum Del. 29 Oct '13
    Torch Red, 2LT Adrenaline Red, AutoTrans., Nav., Perf. Exhaust, Transparent panel, Red Brembos, CQuartz Finest
    Contributing Member of the National Corvette Museum

  12. #11
    Junior Member Hunter25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Tampa, Fl
    Mileage
    22000
    Posts
    26
    Member #
    3768
    Liked
    28 times
    Mine does not change when I change the drive mode. It defaults back to basic mph whenever I shut off the engine.

  13. #12
    Junior Member 4mula1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    5
    Member #
    2782
    Quote Originally Posted by jsvette View Post
    The primary information and format displayed on the HUD is determined by using the INFO tab on the HUD settings, located to the left of the steering wheel and just below the dash. It should remain where you set it regardless of the drive MODE you select. Some of the information will change briefly, however depending on the temporary messages, like NAV etc.
    I was mistaken about which mode it defaults to. The drive modes are what set what the HUD shows. Weather, Economy and Touring will all stay in that drive mode and not change the HUD view when you restart the car. If you have drive mode in Sport or Track, when you restart the car, it will default to Touring drive mode, and change the HUD view to the default Touring view.
    Last edited by 4mula1; Today at 11:24 AM.

  14. #13
    Super Moderator
    Gold Supporting Member
    jsvette's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Vegas
    Mileage
    19k+
    Posts
    14,584
    Member #
    313
    Liked
    10464 times
    Quote Originally Posted by 4mula1 View Post
    I was mistaken about which mode it defaults to. The drive modes are what set what the HUD shows. Weather, Economy and Touring will all stay in that drive mode and not change the HUD view when you restart the car. If you have drive mode in Sport or Track, when you restart the car, it will default to Touring drive mode, and change the HUD view to the default Touring view.
    I have RedHot in Sport Mode and it never changes the HUD setting. Here are the settings impacted by Drive Mode, and while it (Drive Mode) does impact your main dash displays, it does not interact with HUD

    Name:  Driver Mode.jpg
Views: 5
Size:  251.3 KB
    aka Jeff
    'RedHot' Prod.Wk 7 Oct '13 Museum Del. 29 Oct '13
    Torch Red, 2LT Adrenaline Red, AutoTrans., Nav., Perf. Exhaust, Transparent panel, Red Brembos, CQuartz Finest
    Contributing Member of the National Corvette Museum

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Heads up display tilted
    By Wade427 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 93
    Last Post: 10-20-2016, 11:39 PM
  2. Heads up display
    By Xipe in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-31-2015, 09:04 AM
  3. Heads up Display
    By [email protected] in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-31-2014, 09:01 AM
  4. Heads up display defaulting issue
    By SLWatts in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-14-2014, 05:36 AM
  5. Heads up display question
    By regguy1 in forum Purchasing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-18-2014, 08:52 PM
 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.