Stingray Corvette Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just picked mine up Monday at the museum. I realized on the drive home that it does not have HD radio like the 2014's. What happened? Were there issues with the HD feature on the 14's? I checked a 2014 owners manual and it is there on page 14 of the infotainment guide but nothing in the 2015 guide.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
16,508 Posts
That is most peculiar. Have you scanned and seen if you can pick up HD channels you have gotten in the past, and if so does it show that it is HD?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That is most peculiar. Have you scanned and seen if you can pick up HD channels you have gotten in the past, and if so does it show that it is HD?
Yes, I scanned through all the normal Channels where I receive HD radio in my Grand Cherokee. There should be an option in the radio menu to turn on HD, but it is not there. Looks like they pulled this feature out. I am curious why.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,558 Posts
Yes, I scanned through all the normal Channels where I receive HD radio in my Grand Cherokee. There should be an option in the radio menu to turn on HD, but it is not there. Looks like they pulled this feature out. I am curious why.
Did it work very well in the 2014 StingRay? The HD reception in the 2014 Cadillac ATS is very poor, and they would probably be better off without it switching in and out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,166 Posts
I live away from the city, Philadelphia, about 35 to 45 miles from radio stations. My HD reception is poor at best. Most times no HD reception. The closer I get into the city the better it works. Seems to me that maximum distance for decent HD radio is about 15 miles.

This is only my opinion not based on any scientific data measurements.

Horrible option in my opinion unless you are near to the broadcast station.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
114 Posts
Man I hope not, every station I listen too in TampaBay area is HD radio, excellent reception in my F150. Hopefully someone chimes in on this and you just have something switched off.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
149 Posts
Once I turned it on in the setting screen, I can see the radio "acquiring" HD channels and once found I can listen to those channels and all the "hidden" HD channels. I live about 20 miles SE of St Louis on the Illinois side of the Mississippi River.

So for me it works as advertised and grants me about 20 new channels of music. I like.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
114 Posts

·
Administrator
Joined
·
16,508 Posts
  • Like
Reactions: SlikNik

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,385 Posts
I wonder if an upgrade will be available through OnStar sometime in the future. No CD, now no HD, Nice!
 
  • Like
Reactions: SlikNik

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,558 Posts
With HD, you might be missing physical hardware, and no firmware update will create that. Of course, we are not sure exactly how much of the HD is missing in the 2015s right now. All I am saying is if certain pieces are missing, they would have to physically get added before it would work.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
16,508 Posts
I wonder if an upgrade will be available through OnStar sometime in the future. No CD, now no HD, Nice!
This issue/concern applies to 2015 (current) production Stingrays. 2014 Stingrays have HD as part of the standard system. It is not an OnStar related issue. There is a remote chance that the HD receiver is in the 2015 already and deactivated but a higher probability that that component of the radio was not installed and will require a retro-fit similar to what Cadillac did when they changed over from analog to digital. They offered an upgrade at a very minimal service charge.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
16,508 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
Odd. I have a 2014 Stingray and I thought It came with HD Radio and I cannot find any way to turn it on or off as you will. and it not in the infotainment docs anywhere
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
1,400 Posts
Odd. I have a 2014 Stingray and I thought It came with HD Radio and I cannot find any way to turn it on or off as you will. and it not in the infotainment docs anywhere
In the 2014 it's called HD switching. It's an option you can turn on or off in the settings menu.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,558 Posts
1 - 20 of 36 Posts
Top