Stingray Corvette Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
502 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi Guys,
New to your forum and new to the Vette scene as of late. Last car was an 88' Z52 bought new. I'm waiting now to get my order in on Blade Silver/Adrenaline Red 3LZ Z06. I'm ordering a 7spd manual trans and don't know a thing about what sounds like the coolest gizmo ever....Rev Matching.
Now I'm an old Long Haul Trucker (seams like a different lifetime ago) that had his own "Pete Conventional" w/a 13 spd Fuller Roadranger transmission. I could leave LA and drive all the way to Phoenix and never touch the clutch pedal. I did my own rev matching to find that next gear. So I come from a different angle in trying to understand "Rev Matching" in my new Z06.

HELP

Rick

·
Registered
172 Posts
I also have 7 speed manual I love the rev matching feature . When you down shift the engine holds the throttle so there is virtually no lag . Back in the day we would heal toe to do the same thing . Most Proffessional drivers use the heal toe method .

·
Registered
1,204 Posts
I drive a truck also. You'll have fun trying to remember not to double clutch. I'm lucky now, the company I drive for has switched to all automatics.
Once you turn rev match on, (and you have to each time you start the car) the computer will speed up the engine to match the next gear as you down shift. If you are just driving around town it helps a little. You notice it more as you do more spirited driving. It smooths out the down shift so the car doesn't get unsettled.
They say it also does the up shifts, I haven't noticed it do anything yet.

Reactions: Rick C C7 Z06

·
18,670 Posts