Stingray Corvette Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4,607 Posts
I have no experience with this product, but I would rather use a dedicated wash followed by a dedicated wax. Just my .02 worth.

·
Registered
5,453 Posts
Yes, that will work fine...but as said above, the better way is clay, polish and seal...see my build thread with links to producs that make it simple.....

·
Registered
58 Posts
I have no experience with this product, but I would rather use a dedicated wash followed by a dedicated wax. Just my .02 worth.
That product is just your generic otc wash soap. Nothing great or really terrible about it. The best otc product in my opinion is Meguiars Gold Class Car Wash.

Now for glass and interior, I cannot off the top of my head think of stuff that can be had at your usual autoparts store. Everything I have, is gotten from dedicated detailing product websites.

But if you want to wash your vehicle correctly and get the best cleaning with regards to not doing any damage (swirls) to your paint, you will need to go to one of these websites.

You will need...

2 Grit Guards
2 5 Gallon Buckets
Good Soap - My vote goes for Chemical Guys Citrus Wash'n'Gloss or Maxi Sudds.
Wash Mitt - Either a nice microfiber one, like what Meguiars sales, or a good sheepskin wash mitt. Make sure to always use hte wash mitt on JUST the body, clean after each use and store in a dry place where it wont get dirty.
Wash Mitt or Brush for Wheels - Either get a dedicated rim cleaning brush from online stores or depending on wheel design, a cheap wash mitt from a auto parts store. Use this mitt solely for wheels.
Good Wheel Cleaner - Again my vote goes to Chemical Guys Diablo Wheel Gel. But there are a lot of good products out there.