Stingray Corvette Forum banner

1 - 20 of 96 Posts

·
Registered
5,453 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
1st if you like all your badges, skip this thread - nothing to see here. But if you are like me, I hate the plastic all over most catrs - I don't need to know if it's a camaro or an accord, or in this case a "corvette" on the back. It also holds wax and tears my buffing towel when detailing. And the side "stingrays"...well, they are just ......... So here's how it's done.

Go to CVS and get what's in this pic:

If you are in the north, a hair dryer to warm the badge helps, some will use a heat gun, I don't like them on paint so here's the easy way.

1. Get a little eye drop bottle and fill it with Goo gone. Use it to put drops on the tape behind the badge, re-wetting it every 15 min..for an hour...and please, before I get attacked with mis info, , I've been doing this for 10 years, goo gone is fine on paint for an hour...it's citrus......
2. use the floss to get behind the badge and "saw" it off..if you waited an hour, it should fall off with very little effort
3. use your fingers and a MF rag to gently rub with more goo gone until the area is free of adhesive.
4. re wash and wax the area

done!

·
Administrator
15,025 Posts
While I have debadged or ordered some of my cars in the past 'naked':D I believe I read that some if not all of the C7 badges are countersunk in the body. Removing them therefor might not result in the effect you would like.:cool:

·
Registered
89 Posts
did not look that way to me when I looked last week at one in person - the front is taped on. Do you mean pinned? per my original post, I never advocated messing with the flags...
Trust me. :)

Front

Rear

·
Registered
89 Posts
thx..

so back to my original post.....