Stingray Corvette Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7,930 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm having problems keeping my seats set. I'm thinking maybe I have fob No.2 when I get in and push No.1 on the door for seat recall. I'm still learning and reading every post about issues and corrections. When I get out of the Vette and come back later both driver and passenger mirrors are out of whack, I have to adjust them everytime before I drive.

SF
Rick

·
Registered
7 Posts
Remove the key out of the fob and you find a 1 or 2 stamped in the metal. Thats is how you can tell them apart.

·
Administrator
16,583 Posts
Wow as I live and learn :) Even though I had checked my keys for differentiating marks I never saw any. After reading Avgguy's post I looked again and lo and behold, there is a very small 1 or 2 stamped into one of the recesses on each key. You really have to look carefully in good lighting to see it. Here is a picture I just took of one of RedHot's :

key.jpg

By the by, what I have done with my Stingray (and my XTS, since it has the same type of fob also without any external differentiation) key fobs to distinguish #1 from #2 is to put a small dot of paint on the top of one.

Thanks Avgguy! I am curious how you knew that number was stamped in there. :cool:

·
Registered
502 Posts
Just checked mine...both say "2" - not kidding. Keys look alike.....got some investigating to do this afternoon....

·
Registered
7,930 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·