Stingray Corvette Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
With slightly less than 2K in miles, I took my GS into the dealer today for a quick check up. The clutch & shifter just did not feel right to me, very notchy, rough transitions. I'm not a newbie, I've been driving MT for over 30 years. In addition, I was having trouble starting the car in the morning, found that I needed to floor the clutch pedal down to start the car. Dealer found a diagnostic error "P0806" on the clutch system. They performed a clutch bleed which appears to have fixed the issue. So I guess I had an air pocket in the hydraulic system? No cost to me, this was covered by warranty.

While I was there, I asked them to flush the tranny fluid. That was $200 out of my pocket expense but I find that swapping out the transmission fluid early makes a huge difference in the shifting performance of the car. I did the same in 2016 with my Camaro 2SS manual gearbox. The GS now shifts very smoothly, as it should. What's the deal with factory transmission fluid? Is this normal?

·
Registered
369 Posts
Hi, cmferdz63. I do not have any answers to your questions, but I will note that shifts in my 2017 GS got much smoother after about 2k-3k miles. My entire assessment of the gearbox changed for the better during that time frame.

If you indeed had an air pocket in your clutch fluid, it makes you wonder how it went from OK to worse, unless it is somehow sucking in air. Certainly worth keeping an eye on.

·
Premium Member
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi, cmferdz63. I do not have any answers to your questions, but I will note that shifts in my 2017 GS got much smoother after about 2k-3k miles. My entire assessment of the gearbox changed for the better during that time frame.

If you indeed had an air pocket in your clutch fluid, it makes you wonder how it went from OK to worse, unless it is somehow sucking in air. Certainly worth keeping an eye on.