Stingray Corvette Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
18,670 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ran across this article and video on how to program you "HomeLink." Know that a couple of you have also come up with some ideas when your home garage door opener is a different/unique brand. thought we,could collectively add together our knowledge here, as this has been a problem for more than just a few.

GM Authority said:
More commonly known as the garage door opening system, the Universal Home Remote can be highly convenient, as it provides a way replace up to three remote control transmitters used to activate garage door openers and Home security systems. But as it often happens, setting it up to work with your garage can be quite the challenge. To help with that, we’re providing the following guide on programming the system.

Press and hold the two outside buttons at the same time, releasing only when the Universal Home Remote indicator light begins to flash. You’ll need to press these for a maximum of 20 seconds.

Hold your Universal Home transmitter about 1-3 inches away from the Universal Home Remote buttons while keeping the indicator light in view. At the same time, press and hold the button to be programmed and the handheld transmitter button. Do not release either button until the indicator light on the Universal Home Remote flashes slowly at first and then rapidly after a successful program.

Press and hold the newly-trained Universal Home Remote button and observe the indicator light.
If the indicator light stays on continuously, the programming is complete.

If the Universal Home Remote indicator light blinks rapidly for two seconds and then turns to a constant light, then continue with the following steps:
Go to the garage door opener receiver motor head unit and locate the learn or smart button.
Firmly press the button and release the smart button. After you press this button, you now have 30 seconds to return to the vehicle. Once back in the vehicle, firmly press and hold the button on the Universal Home Remote that you selected previously for 2 seconds. Then, release.

If the garage door does not move, repeat steps 4 and 5 a second and third time. For questions or more help programming the Universal Home Remote System, call 1-800-355-3515 or visit the HomeLink website.

Here’s a video from GMC demonstrating the programming process:



Read more: How To Program HomeLink GMC Garage Door Opener | GM Authority
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,933 Posts
This all seems very hit or miss. I just tried programming the buttons by holding my existing Overhead Door remote an inch away as I pressed buttons on both the manufacturers remote and the car buttons, and it didn't take. So I guess I will have to get someone to climb a ladder and turn on the "learn" switch on the unit as I do the additional steps.

One thing that is confusing is that the video and web page says you start by pressing the two outer buttons until you get a steady light. My 2015 manual does not mention this step.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,333 Posts
Thanks John, this answers a question I've had on my mind for a couple of months now. Yes, as far away as I am from taking delivery, things like this have entered my mind. Yes, I know I'm thinking way too far in advance.......
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
150 Posts
I did this yesterday. Pres two out buttons until red link blink pattern changes. Then press and hold the button an existing garage opener remote and the Corvette homelink button of your choice untill blink pattern changes. Now you have taught the corvette homelink a code. Now you need to teach the garage door unit this code. Press the yellow purple red or whatever button on the ceiling box and then press the homelink button in the vette until the light on the garage door ceiling unit blink. Presto. Done.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
150 Posts
The thing that confuses people is that they think that the homelink already has a code programmed that it can send to the opener. This is not true.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,565 Posts
The thing that confuses people is that they think that the homelink already has a code programmed that it can send to the opener. This is not true.
The thing which confuses some people is that we are led to believe that we can copy the RF signal code from an existing remote opener into the car's homelink, and that the car's homelink will then automatically be recognized by the door opener inside the garage, because it already "knows" that exact RF signal from having learned it from the existing remote long ago. In theory that should work, but did not for us at our house. I suspect that there is too much ambient, background RF noise present when the copy is being made, so the copy procedure from an existing remote opener to the car's homelink can get slightly corrupted - the newly-copied RF signal looks a little different because it is a sum of the original signal plus background RF noise.

So, in reality, that newly-programmed signal looks different enough from the original signal that carefully-discriminating garage door openers refuse to accept the new "copy" as being valid; therefore, the last step of having the door opener inside the garage learn this new, slightly different signal is required.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,362 Posts
This all seems very hit or miss. I just tried programming the buttons by holding my existing Overhead Door remote an inch away as I pressed buttons on both the manufacturers remote and the car buttons, and it didn't take. So I guess I will have to get someone to climb a ladder and turn on the "learn" switch on the unit as I do the additional steps.

One thing that is confusing is that the video and web page says you start by pressing the two outer buttons until you get a steady light. My 2015 manual does not mention this step.
Milliwatt Rob, I found this info in the HomeLink FAQ: If you have a newer Chamberlain, Sears Craftsman or LiftMaster garage door opener fitted with a yellow antenna wire, please consider purchasing a HomeLink Repeater Kit to ensure compatibility.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
150 Posts
I don't think we are copying the code from an existing opener. I think we are teaching the homelink what the formatting of the code is that it needs to send and generates an entirely new code in that format. I'm just speculating.
 

·
Registered
Owned: '65, '75, '97, '01, '10, '14, now '16 Z06
Joined
·
9,693 Posts
I did something right, used the existing remote of all three doors, followed the instructions from the owners manual, worked the first attempt. Still working with no issues. I guess I got lucky. :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,933 Posts
My garage door openers are "Overhead Door" brand, installed around 2002. We will climb the ladder to the units and hit the "learn" switch on the units.

Thanks for the explanations, folks. OK on that when you press the buttons simultaneously, you are not copying the full encoding of your existing remote, only its digital format or protocol.
 

·
Registered
2015 Corvette Z51, LT2 package, manual, convertible, torch red
Joined
·
27 Posts
Nice to see some help here on the forum. I am going to attempt to program my home link to my garage opener soon. Last time I did this, with a new car, it took me all week to figure it out. We will see.

also found this video:

 

·
Registered
2015 Corvette Z51, LT2 package, manual, convertible, torch red
Joined
·
27 Posts
I tried the programming today. So far, no luck. The time window allowed is about 30 seconds after climbing ladder to hit main garage opener motor buttons and they allow link. I can't get to my car fast enough? And maybe I need to pull the car closer to the opener motor? I am going to ask my wife to help. As a retired engineer, I will fixate on this problem until it is solved. I did successfully link my iPhone to the car after deleting all other bluetooth devices on both my phone and the car (bought used)-- and the phone works!

Here is a GM video:
 

·
Registered
2014 Arctic White C7 Z51
Joined
·
1,172 Posts
Hang in there it takes patience and you will eventually get it like i did after a gazillion tries. Trust me, it's not you but the system where some just takes longer than others.... LOL
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top