Stingray Corvette Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just received my Stingray, and I noticed that the engine makes a ticking noise. Is that normal? I'm assuming that pushrod engines make more mechanical noises.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Only hear it when idling. Not worried at the moment if it's a noise you all hear as well.

·
Registered
4,656 Posts
Very normal, I get it on the 2014 Silverado and it's annoying..... BTW, it has nothing to do with the pushrods, as Glen said it the Direct Injection coupled with the composite intakes and valve covers that do little to muffle the sound.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Okay, I'm new to direct injection engines, so I'm not familiar with the noises they make. Thanks!

·
Registered
658 Posts
Mine has a ticking sound but I didn't think it was the injectors because it's louder sometime then others and it's annoyingly loud sometimes. I did have the dealer look at it had they said everything was fine.

·
Registered
10,418 Posts
For you guys with ticking sounds, why not record a video up close and personal with the hood open, and post a link to it so others can hear it? Besides, I am sure a lot of us will not get tired of hearing that engine. :)

By the way, my wife's direct injection engine makes a funny noise at idle, but it goes away when you increase the RPMs. Apparently, this is completely normal for these new direct injection engines.

Anyway, like I said, some of you guys should post some up close and personal videos with the engine. Those of us still waiting on our orders will thank you. :)

·
Registered
658 Posts
For you guys with ticking sounds, why not record a video up close and personal with the hood open, and post a link to it so others can hear it? Besides, I am sure a lot of us will not get tired of hearing that engine. :)