Stingray Corvette Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Track Days Alignment 2015 Corvette C7 3LT Z51 7 sp - With Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Tires

I have been on the Corvette Stingray Forum for the past several years, but I have not been that active on posting. I find it a good source of information, but couldn't I find info on Track Days Alignment specific to a C7 Z51 with Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 tires.

I am an Automotive Engineer who specialized in Brakes and Suspension and Vehicle Dynamics.

I have raced Spec Miata and then open wheel Formula cars with SCCA for 10 years. Then I raced with NASA in Track Days with a 2004 BMW M3 in Time Trial for 4 years until I bought a Corvette.

I bought a used 2015 Corvette Shark Grey C7 3LT Z51 7 sp loaded with PDR and Magnetic Ride Control shocks. I have been doing Track Days events with NASA, MVP Track Time and Laps Inc. for the past 4 years.

I have from GM the 2014 - 2018 Corvette: Service Bulletin: #16-NA-056: Track and Competitive Driving Wheel Alignment Tips - (April 4, 2017). This bulletin requires removing 1 washer per front and rear upper control arm. Be advised this Track Alignment is a costly process approximately $550.00 at Martin Chevrolet).

But, I thought I would take one for the Team as an experiment and see if it is worth it?

Why, because the cost of a set of Michelin PSC2 tires last season in 2019 was about $1,850 and I only got about 15, 30 minute sessions at Road America, Autobahn Country Club and NCM before I had severe outside shoulder wear and chunking especially on the front tires when running stock alignment and 26 PSI cold tires pressure to start.

TSB - Alignment Specs
Front

Caster: + 7.0 degrees
Camber: - 2.0 degrees
Toe: 0.05 degrees toe in

Rear
Caster: 0 degrees
Camber: - 2.0 degrees
Toe: 0.05 degrees toe in
Thrust Angle: 0 degrees