Stingray Corvette Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a sales consultant at Wallace Chevrolet in Stuart, FL. I have delivered 5 Vettes and in spite of the recommendation to give the cover to the customer to use as a cover, I am strongly against this recommendation.

My reason is this cover is made of stiff material and every Vette that has been delivered at our dealership has been full of very sharp edged stone chips that are picked up during intransport to our facility.

When lifting the cover out of the trunk area, these chips fall out into the trunk.

Should an owner place the cover on their new Vette they are sure to scratch the paint taking it on an off.

I will be contacting customer assistance to suggest the discarding of the transport cover so as to avoid damage to the paint.

Spending a few hundred dollars for the proper cover makes sense to me.

Any comments? Leaving for Nevada 11/11 for the Corvette driving school at the Ranch. Can't wait!

Sent from my iPhone using Corvette Stingray Forum mobile app

·
Registered
53 Posts
Want to keep as it is original to the car. I am getting the GM indoor cover to use. Just another piece to collect.

·
Registered
1,922 Posts
It's part of Corvette history in 20 or 30 years the next owners will be looking for the original cover these cars were shipped with. It's all about the paperwork....

You can have my cover when they pry it from my dead hands. :)

·
Registered
429 Posts
You can have my cover when they pry it from my dead hands. :)
Your proposal is accepted...as was said to Edgar in MIB.

·
Registered
680 Posts
I kept my cover for memorabilia reasons... as Red C7 said above. Garage kept, too. If I needed a cover, I would purchase the proper cover through GM.

·
Registered
38 Posts