Stingray Corvette Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2015, Corvette Z51
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to owning a Corvette. I've always had antique and/or classic vehicles. My Corvette currently has just over 15K miles and has the original Michelin Pilot tires.
I feel the run-flat tires are super noisy. I've read some postings regarding replacing tires after 5 - 7 years, however, what I've read has mentioned staying with run-flats. I thought If I replaced my tires with a comparable quality tire the noise factor would be noticeably lessened.

I'd like to hear from members with pros and cons on staying with new run-flats, or changing them altogether with something different. Thank you for your input.

·
Banned
Owned: '65, '75, '97, '01, '10, '14, now '16 Z06
9,698 Posts
The last few Vettes that I bought, I usually wear out the factories and replace with a non run flat, to me a smoother, quieter ride. I'm not advocating a non run flat tire, just my personal preference. I carry Platinum AAA, works well.

Your choice will depend on what is most important to you, the piece of mind of a run flat of not worrying about the repair immediately and getting to your destination. Or you may want to go in the opposite for the perceived smoother and quieter ride.

There are quite a few reputable tire manufacturers that carry either for your car, you will have to do some research ref. pricing, etc.

·
Registered
2014 Arctic White C7 Z51
1,619 Posts
Replaced my OEM runflats on my C7 Z51 with the Pilot Sport 4s about 8K miles ago and really love them. I don’t track my car, but do “occasionally” and “safely” drive it aggressively on city freeways / highways but never recklessly. For that application, I have zero complaints.
  • Much less road noise for mine - right after installation, I was doing over 100mph before I noticed - it was that quiet.
  • Rides smoother - don't feel every road seam like run-flats